Skillinvest’s Skilled Employee Takes Home 2016 Group Training Service Excellence Award


Skillinvest’s, Robin Kuhne, receives 2016 Group Training Service Excellence Award at Apprenticeship Employment Network Annual Industry Awards Dinner at Waterfront Venues Docklands Thursday 17 November.

Apprenticeship Employment Network (AEN) is Victoria’s largest apprentice and trainee employer network with their members securing employment for 150,000 apprentices and trainees over the last 30 years. Their awards ceremony is held annually to acknowledge the outstanding achievements of our members, staff, apprentices and trainees within the Victorian GTO industry.

Kuhne was nominated for the award category for work overseeing the ‘New Agricultural Traineeships for School Leavers in Drought affected North West Victoria’ program. Skillinvest together with Longerong College developed and implemented a program to create 20 agricultural traineeships for school leavers affected by the drought in North West Victoria. The program received $574,000 in Government funding.

All 20 trainees/school leavers are enrolled in Certificate III in Agriculture focusing on cropping and grazing. The trainees have benefited from a combination of on the job training with a host employer and study provided by Longerengong College. The program shows strong support to the farming community, promoting agricultural traineeships in an industry that saw a decline over the last few years.

The 2016 Group Training Service Excellence Award was awarded to Kuhne for spearheading the program and making a difference in the wider community, along with contributing to apprentice and trainee career pathways.

“Robin Kunhe has demonstrated leadership and innovation with implementing and developing the New Agricultural Traineeships for School Leavers in Drought affected North West Victoria program”, Apprenticeship Employment Network executive director, Gary Workman, says. Congratulations to the team at Skillinvest.

To find out more about the awards including previous winners, nominations and winners in other categories go to